The first winners of 2019 The British Independent Film Awards

The British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) announced on Friday the first of this year’s award winners for its nine film Craft categories.

The Personal History of David Copperfield, Armando Iannucci’s retelling of Charles Dickens’ classic novel, has received three awards: Best Casting sponsored by Casting Society of America and Spotlight for Sarah Crowe, Best Costume Design for Suzie Harman and Robert Worley and Best Production Design sponsored by Studio Juice for Cristina Casali. Sarah Crowe and Cristina Casali both also won these awards in 2017 for their last film with Iannucci, The Death of Stalin.

Beats, the story of two Scottish boys who risk everything to attend an illegal rave, won two awards: Best Cinematography for Benjamin Kracun and Best Sound supported by Halo Post for David Bowtle-McMillan, Joakim Sundström and Robert Farr.

Tom Harper’s Wild Rose, which stars Jessie Buckley as a troubled Glaswegian who dreams of becoming a country music star, picked up Best Music sponsored by Universal Music Publishing Group for Jack Arnold.

The Best Make Up & Hair Design award, which is sponsored by MAC Cosmetics, went to Jeremy Woodhead for Judy, Rupert Goold’s biopic of legendary performer Judy Garland starring Renee Zellweger.

Chloe Lambourne and Simon McMahon won the award for Best Editing sponsored by Intermission Film for For Sama, one of the year’s most impactful documentaries, filmed on the front line of the Syrian civil war.

Visual Effects Supervisor Howard Jones was the winner of Best Effects for A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon. Howard won this award last year, also, for Early Man.

BIFA introduced these nine award categories in 2017 to better recognise the wealth of exceptional talent working on British independent films. The nominations and winners have been chosen by BIFA voters over the course of three rounds of viewing, discussion and voting.

As previously announced, Kristin Scott Thomas will receive this year’s Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Film. Winners in the remaining categories will be unveiled at the ceremony on Sunday 1 December at Old Billingsgate.